A Gathering of Gaines: The Man and the Writer

A Gathering of Gaines: The Man and the Writer

Regular price
Sale price

The Man and the Writer

by Anne K. Simpson

In this first-ever biography of Louisiana writer Ernest Gaines, Anne K. Simpson explores both the man and his writing in considerable depth.

Gaines' novels examine the African American experience in South Louisiana and frequently take place within Creole, Cajun, and old South settings in the region. His novels include A Lesson Before Dying (1993) which won the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction in 1993, and was selected for Oprah's Book Club in 1997; The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman (1971); A Gathering of Old Men (1971); Mozart and Leadbelly: Stories and Essays (2005); In My Father's House (1978); A Long Day in November (1971); Bloodline (1968); Of Love and Dust (1967); and his first novel, Catherine Carmier (1964).

Softcover, 384 pages, ©1991

ISBN: 0940984695